words are all i have

Beggars and Bums

6 Comments

A fire without heat
like a grave without dirt
is a life full of empty
until the sun rises again
as it always shall
on you beggars and bums.

The streets live on you
not you on them,
yet they are unmean
nay are they yours
for the streets belong to all
including
you beggars and bums.

Ah, but we cannot call you
beggars and bums
anymore
for tho you squat
behind cardboard beggar signage
and upturned cotton caps of wanting,
we too forever ask
of someone
for that which we shall never share
to make us all
beggars and bums.

Bigger cars, bigger houses
the ladder’s loftiest rung
gimme, take
gimme, take
gimme, take
we are beggars, we are bums.

Do not speak easy of beggars and bums
lest it easy to speak
as the beggar and bum
you are
with a voice that carries not
yet exists
uninvited and unwelcomed
on another’s street
that you might call your own.

Beggars and bums.
All.
Of us.

6 thoughts on “Beggars and Bums

  1. Very thought-provoking. One of my favorite take-aways in this piece
    “Do not speak easy of beggars and bums
    lest it easy to speak
    as the beggar and bum
    you are”

  2. Yes ma’am.

    I slept on it and now come back to it again.

    Please, allow me to confess – I struggle with poetry. I figure most folks just pass it by or hold it only in novelty. I am a bug on the windshield of poetry.

    I studied a survey of poetry in intro college courses. I am amazed at how much that bit of exposure aided my major, but I certainly did not become a poet, nor qualified to be a critic.

    Then one year I was substituting for a local high school and found myself right smack in the middle of a poetry assignment that lasted all week. I was leading 15 year olds into it, and so I tried my pen at it along with them. It was great fun, and I produced something that I happened to really like, but I felt very shy about calling it art. Nevertheless, I made a metaphor of the sidewalks on my college campus and rubbed sparks off of it on a number of key life experiences I had been through. The exercise was meaningful, if only to me.

    Your poem here, I found while trolling the web, touches some things important to me.

    Thanks for sharing it.

    Blessings from Lubbock, Texas

    Agent X
    Fat Beggars School of Prophets
    Lubbock, Texas (USA)

  3. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experiences with poetry. I don’t consider myself a poet by any stretch, but I’m no longer shy about writing poems and sharing them. They might not reach others and touch others, and no doubt others interpret them differently than I, but I still write them and put them out there. Kindness to you.

Leave a Reply

